Ceremony at Trinity House London

The 2009 YJA Pantaenius Yachtsman of the Year will be announced later today (Tuesday 12th January), at an awards ceremony to be held at Trinity House, London.

The award will be presented by Sir Robin Knox-Johnston a previous winner himself.

Finalists for this prestigious title are:

  • Paul Goodison, World Laser champion, Olympic Gold medal and five times European champion. Paul is the only sailor worldwide to hold all three awards at the same time and was nominated for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award.
  • Sam Davies, first placed Briton in the Vendee Globe 2008/09. Sam competed in the Transat Jacque Vabre race which finished last 2009 and was also nominated for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award.
  • Ian Williams – two times World Match Race champion. Ian became the first British National to be crowned Match Racing World champion in the event’s 19 year history.

The YJA Pantaenius Yachtsman of the Year Award is open to any British resident or passport holder who has made an outstanding achievement under sail or power during 2009.

The award was initiated in 1955 by Sir Max Aitken and now bears the names of the greatest achievers in British yachting circles over the past five decades.

Previous winners include Eric Hiscock, Sir Francis Chichester, Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, Sir Chay Blyth, Sir Edward Heath, Tracy Edwards MBE, Dame Ellen MacArthur and Ben Ainslie CBE.

The winners of both the Young Sailor and Yachtman of the year awards are nominated by the public and elected by the votes of the Yachting Journalists’ Association (YJA).

Pantaenius is one of the leading yacht insurance intermediaries in Europe and took over sponsoring the awards from Raymarine last year.