Presentation will be at RYA Volvo Dinghy Show

The winner of the RYA Club of the Year 2010 award will be unveiled at the RYA Volvo Dinghy Show 2010 held at Alexandra Palace, London, over the weekend of 6-7 March.

Five sailing clubs from across the UK have been shortlisted for the award, and the overall winner will be announced at in a special award presentation on the Volvo Main Stage on Saturday 6 March a 4:30 pm.

This year’s finalists are:

Bury Lake Young Mariners, Hertfordshire

Donaghadee Sailing Club, County Down

Exe Sailing Club, Exmouth

Spinnaker Sailing Club, Hampshire

Yorkshire Dales Sailing Club, North Yorkshire

The shortlisted sailing clubs were selected by an awards panel who judged them on how well they encouraged people to get out on the water, the range of quality and safe activities provided and how well they managed to engage with the local community.

RYA Volunteer Development Officer Jackie Bennetts comments: “The RYA Club of the Year Award recognises the outstanding achievements of sailing clubs in the UK that help to keep our sport alive. 

James Stevens, RYA Training Manager will be introducing the finalists with awards being presented by new RYA Chief Executive Sarah Treseder.

For more information about the awards and the finalists visit

To order tickets for the RYA Volvo Dinghy Show 2010 visit or call 0844 811 0409