A chance to have a nose around the working office of the General Lighthouse Authority
Trinity House is to host a rare public open day in May in honour of its 500th anniversary.
In 1514 a young King Henry VIII granted a Royal Charter to a fraternity of mariners called the Guild of the Holy Trinity ‘so that they might regulate the pilotage of ships in the King’s streams’.
The month of May marks the 500th anniversary of this milestone event in British maritime history.
Included in the celebrations at Trinity House, home to the corporation and the working office of the General Lighthouse Authority, is a unique open day invitation to the general public.
From 10am to 3pm on Saturday, 17 May, members of the public are invited to wander around Trinity House, on Tower Hill, to discover the treasures and artefacts preserved and on display within its five elegant rooms and access areas from
There is no need to book a place, interested day-visitors can just turn up. Expert guides will be stationed throughout to answer any questions.
Enthusiasts unable to make this date can schedule a visit from 10am – 3pm on Saturday 20 September as part of the city-wide Open House London promotion created by Open-City (www.open-city.org.uk).
About Trinity House
Trinity House is the working office of the General Lighthouse Authority
(GLA) for England and Wales with responsibility for nearly 600 Aids to
Navigation from traditional aids such as lighthouses, buoys and beacons
to the latest satellite navigation technology.
In addition, it inspects more than 10,000 local Aids to Navigation provided by port and harbour
authorities and those positioned on offshore structures.
The venue at
Tower Hill pays a rent to the Corporation for its use which ensures, as
in all other aspects of the two organisations’ finances, that the
accounts of the Corporation and the General Lighthouse Authority are
entirely separate and without crossover.
Trinity House is available for private hire on an exclusive use basis and throughout the year is a popular venue for prestigious corporate and social occasions and is licensed for weddings and civil service ceremonies.
Built in 1794, the history of the House is omnipresent and throughout the building, valuable paintings and antiques bear out the nation’s remarkable nautical heritage.
One of its more recent acquisitions is the brass bell from the Royal Yacht Britannia which was decommissioned in 1997.
Incorporated by Royal Charter in 1514, the Corporation is also a major maritime charity, wholly funded by its endowments. The Corporation spends around £4m each year on its charitable activities including welfare of mariners, education and training, and the promotion of safety at sea. It is also a Deep Sea Pilotage Authority.
Visit www.trinityhouse.co.uk to find out more.
A PBO Special on 500 years of Trinity House can be found in the March 2014 issue, out in the shops now!