British olympic sailors announced winners of Raymarine/YJA award at Greenwich naval college ceremony

The 2008 Olympic Sailing Gold Medallists have been jointly awarded the Raymarine YJA Yachtsman of the Year award.

Photo: Team GBR welcomed back to London after the 2008 Olympics in China

Ben Ainslie (Finn class), Paul Goodison (Laser class), Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson (Star class), and Sarah Ayton, Sarah Webb and Pippa Wilson (Yngling class), who between them won 4 gold medals helped gain the highest results seen for Great Britain in yachting history.

Finalists for the Yachting Journalists Association / Raymarine Yachtsman of the year award attended the ceremony this afternoon at the Painted Hall, Greenwich Naval College in London.

The nominees included Dag Pike who, at 75 years of age, became the oldest person to win the Round Britain Power Boat Race and the only person to win the event twice and Jim Saltonstall who had a major influence on the racing coaching of the Olympic winners in their formative years.