Lands award for a record fourth time

Ben Ainslie has added a fourth ISAF World Sailor of the Year title to the fourth Olympic gold medal he also won in 2012.

He beat fellow Weymouth gold medallists Mathew Belcher and Malcolm Page, Nathan Outteridge and Iain Jensen and Tom Slingsby to the crown, as well as Jules Verne Trophy skipper Loïck Peyron, to the award.

Ainslie, 35, also scooped the award in 1998, 2002 and 2008. No other man or woman has won it more than twice.

In the female prize, Britain’s first Paralympic sailing champion, Helena Lucas, and world and European youth windsurfing champion Saskia Sills, lost out to China’s Lijia Xu, another 2012 gold medallist in the Laser Radial class.

Ainslie nominated again for World Sailor of the Year.