Celebrating the achievements of ordinary individuals doing extraordinary things on the world's oceans

Round-the-world sailor Jeanne Socrates and adventurer Skip Novak were among the winners of the Ocean Cruising Club Awards for 2013.

Each year the OCC recognises the achievements of ordinary individuals doing extraordinary things on the world’s oceans and brings those achievements to the attention of the sailing community at large.

The OCC Awards Sub-Committee made the announcement at the 2014 London Boat Show.

Jeanne Socrates was named as the recipient of the club’s premier award for members, The Barton Cup.

At the age of 70, Jeanne sailed into the history books as the oldest woman to circumnavigate the world solo, non-stop.

Two recipients share the OCC Award of Merit, an OCC award that recognises both members and non-members: Herb Hilgenberg and Laura Dekker.

Herb assisted blue water sailors with ship-routing and weather advice for more than 25 years. Laura has shown the world that being the youngest circumnavigator was not derived from seeking fame and fortune but rather from a tremendous passion for sailing.

Skip Novak claimed the Geoff Pack Memorial Award, an accolade dedicated to the memory of Yachting Monthly’s former editor, which celebrates sailors who, by his or her writing, has done most to foster and encourage ocean cruising in small craft.

Skip was awarded the prize for having exposed millions of ordinary people and sailors around the world to extreme adventure sailing through writing in books, magazines and newspapers plus appearance in film and video.

Commodore John Franklin added: ‘I congratulate all award recipients and nominees, and I thank all adventurous cruising sailors for inspiring new generations to reach for extraordinary goals.’

All winners are invited to attend the OCC Annual Dinner and Awards Ceremony on 12 April 2014 aboard HQS Wellington (Head Quarters Ship and home of the Honourable Company of Master Mariners) in London, where formal presentations of the awards will be made.

Click here to read detailed stories about each award winner.

The full list of OCC Award 2013 winners

The Barton Cup: Jeanne Socrates

OCC Award of Merit: Herb Hilgenberg and Laura Dekker

OCC Award: Anne Hammick

The Vasey Vase: Jarlath Cunnane

The Rose Medal: Paul Heiney

The Rambler Medal: Richard Hudson

The Jester Medal: Ewen Southby-Tailyour Trevor Leek

The Australian Trophy: Ian & Jo Johnstone, with children Gill and Keely

Geoff Pack Memorial Award: Skip Novak

The David Wallis Trophy: Chris Wilkie & Margaret Beasley

The Water Music Trophy: Duncan & Ria Briggs

The Qualifier’s Mug: Emma Buckels

The Port Officer Medal: Derrick Allen, Dick Davidson, Alfredo Lagos, and Ian Nicolson

OCC Seamanship Award: Dan Alonso

Pictures: Jeane Socrates; Skip Novak; Laura Dekker; Jarlath Cunnane. Credit: Ocean Cruising Club