Do you know any individuals or RYA-affiliated organisations making an outstanding contribution to sailing or boating life in the UK?

Nominations are now open for the new look Royal Yachting Association (RYA) Awards, recognising the outstanding contributions made by individuals and RYA-affiliated organisations throughout the UK.

From inspirational volunteers to thriving and forward-thinking clubs, the awards aim to celebrate all those going the extra mile to support our boating community.

RYA director of sport development Rob Clark said: “For the first time, we’re bringing together the previous Club of the Year and Volunteer Awards into one celebration.
“These revamped awards offer a brilliant way of recognising achievement, as well as a chance to say a special thank you to those who make it possible.”

volunteer RIB driver with young person in dinghy

The RYA is merging its previously separate ‘Club of the Year’ and ‘Volunteer of the Year’ awards. Photo credit: RYA

The awards will be presented across two categories.

Affiliate Awards

The Affiliate Awards, supported by Gallagher, honour clubs, classes and affiliated organisations playing a vital role in the vibrant and thriving boating network.

In this category you’ll find awards including Together on Water, The Green Blue team, Young Person’s, Active and Event of the Year.

Individual Awards

volunteer lock keeper

All aspects of boating can be celebrated. Photo credit: RYA

The Individual Awards celebrate the exceptional commitment and achievements of both long-standing and young volunteers. Whether it’s mowing the lawn, making tea, helming the safety boat or simply getting stuck in wherever needed- it all counts.

Awards in this category include Unsung Hero, Long Service, Rising Star, Guiding Light and Inspirational Race Coach or Instructor.

Continues below…

How to make your nomination

Nominations must be made before midday on 16 September 2024.

Category finalists will be invited to a reception held at the RYA Dinghy and Watersports Show on Saturday 22 February 2025 where the overall category winners will be announced.

Find out more information about the categories and make your nomination at