YJA Pantaenius award winners to be announced at London Boat Show


finalists of the 2010 YJA Pantaenius Yachtsman of the Year and YJA

Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year awards have been announced. The vote

for the overall winner now goes to the members of the Yachting

Journalists’ Association (YJA) in a secret ballot. The winner of each

award will be revealed at two separate ceremonies during the Tullett

Prebon London International Boat Show in January 2011.


Pantaenius Yachtsman of the Year finalists include Edward Wright, Finn

World Champion and double World Cup Winner. Edward is one of the true

heavy hitters of the Finn class. This year he took first place in the

Rolex Miami OCR , Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia MAPFRE, Mallorca, the

North American Championship and the Finn Gold Cup in San Francisco. Lucy

MacGregor and team,
Ladies World Match Racing Winners. Having gained

National, European and World Championship titles and rapidly risen

through the ranks to lead the World rankings, Lucy MacGregor and her

team are a promising prospect for the future of British sailing. Geoff

Geoff became the first quadriplegic to sail across the Atlantic

when he sailed into the British Virgin Islands in January 7th 2010,

overcoming personal adversity and achieving his own impossible dream. It

took 28 days to complete the 2,700 mile voyage.


for the YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year include Anya Colley,

RYA National British Ski Stock Champion. Six of her World titles and

many of her other achievements have been secured in mixed gender


Joanna Freeman and Hannah Mitchell. Joanna and Hannah won

the RYA Volvo Nationals in Weymouth in April 2010 and placed 4th at the

ISAF Youth Worlds in Turkey, narrowly missing out on a 2nd through


Izzy Hamilton. Izzy picked up her third Youth National title in

April 2010. Izzy won a Silver medal at the European Youth Championships

in Sopot, Poland and another at the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World

Championships in Istanbul, Turkey. Izzy has just successfully defended

her class Youth World title in Cyprus becoming Britain’s first ever

double windsurfung Youth World Champion.


of both awards will be voted for by members of the Yachting

Journalists’ Association. The YJA Pantaenius Yachtsman of the Year will

be announced at an awards ceremony at midday on Tuesday 11th January

2011 at Trinity House, Tower Hill, London.


YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year Award will be announced at

14:00 hrs on Saturday 8th January 2011 at the Tullett Prebon London

International Boat Show at ExCel, at the Knowledge Box. RYA Regional

Winners will also be presented with their awards at the ceremony.

RYA Regional Winners are:

East Midlands: Anya Colley*

Northern Ireland: Sophie Murphy

North East: Jordan Muckles

Scotland: Callum Airlie

Southern: Joanna Freeman & Hannah Mitchell*

South East: Richard Thomas

South West: Sam Sills

Thames Valley: Aaron Reynolds

Wales: Ellie Meophan

West Midlands: Sarah Norbury

Yorkshire and Humberside: Connor Bainbridge

North West: Cameron Douglas

*Also finalists for the YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year Award.